Thursday, March 7, 2013

// Book Review // Let's Pretend This Never Happened


i felt silly laughing as i read this book in bed next to my husband.
it is a really ridiculous word and it makes me question if jenny lawson, the author,
was at all truthful in her memoir. judging from the title of her book, 
Let's Pretend This Never Happened: A Mostly True Memoir
i'm taking an guess in saying that she wasn't.
the thing is: i couldn't differentiate from fact or fiction

at times this book is laugh-out-loud hilarious but other times you could hear crickets.
i found a few levels of humor in Let's Pretend This Never Happened:

-sometimes her stories are truly, really funny
-sometimes they're funny in the sense that i felt uncomfortable for the situations she found herself in
- then there was also nervous laughter from reading so many cuss words (like so many)

really early on her stories were seemingly so exaggerated that they ceased to make me laugh
i found myself saying, "that cannot possibly be true"

if i ever met jenny i would ask her about the truthfulness of her stories
and if she ended up convincing me of their validity
then i would say: "wow, you poor girl" followed by uncontrollable laughter 
because who wouldn't laugh at someone who had an hyper-hygienic raccoon as a pet.

since jenny is a blogger, the book is written in that format as well.
she writes as if she was speaking to you
and goes off on tangents and rants that make you forget what you were reading about in the first place.
it is really like reading a book written by a six-year-old with adhd and really advanced vocabulary

it is definitely not a writing style that everyone likes.
it took a lot of getting used to for me.


From the authors own blog:
For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris-Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut.
When Jenny Lawson was little, all she ever wanted was to fit in. That dream was cut short by her fantastically unbalanced father (a professional taxidermist who created dead-animal hand puppets) and a childhood of wearing winter shoes made out of used bread sacks. It did, however, open up an opportunity for Lawson to find the humor in the strange shame spiral that is her life, and we are all the better for it.
Lawson’s long-suffering husband and sweet daughter are the perfect comedic foils to her absurdities, and help her to uncover the surprising discovery that the most terribly human moments-the ones we want to pretend never happened-are the very same moments that make us the people we are today.
Let’s Pretend This Never Happened: A Mostly True Memoir is a poignantly disturbing, yet darkly hysterical tome for every intellectual misfit who thought they were the only ones to think the things that Lawson dares to say out loud. Like laughing at a funeral, this book is both irreverent and impossible to hold back once you get started.
AUTHOR BIO: Known for her sardonic wit and her hysterically skewed outlook on life, Jenny Lawson has made millions of people question their own sanity, as they found themselves admitting that they, too, often wondered why Jesus wasn’t classified as a zombie, or laughed to the point of bladder failure when she accidentally forgot that she mailed herself a cobra. Her blog (www.thebloggess.com) is award-winning, extremely popular, and she is considered to be one of  the funniest women alive by at least three people.
You can find Jenny Lawson on social media: Twitter Facebookand, of course, her blog.
To learn more about Let's Pretend This Never Happened, check out the BlogHer Book Club as we discuss it! 

Disclosure: This is a paid review for BlogHer Book Club however the opinions expressed are my own.

1 comment:

christina said...

Fun! i wanna be part of a book club! oh wait I just want to read a book ... uninterrupted. lol.

fun book! i am going to look into it!

p.s. nice to "meet you!" off to read more ;)

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...